Skip to content

JoJo’s Journal – Nas, Chris Brown, Chrisette Michele, Eve and more

November 12, 2007

From JoJo’s Journal: 

Hey folks.  Just stopping by for a minute to give my take on what’s going on in the entertainment world and beyond.  And remember, it’s MY take.  Everybody has an opinion. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That Chris Brown sure is a cutayIsn’t he like 18 years old or something?  He has a new CD out and a Christmas movie to promote.  He is doing his thang!    I like his song “Kiss Kiss” with T-Pain.  I haven’t heard the entire CD but Chris says there are a couple of joints on there for the older crowd.  I wonder what he means by “older crowd”. At 18 he could be referring someone 25

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A lot of us are feeling new artist Chrisette Michele.  If you haven’t checked her out yet, do so.  The first single “If I Have My Way” is on point.  But don’t sleep on “Good Girl” and “Lets Rock” – both are very good!  And isn’t Chrisette gorgeous?!  We can always expect good music from her, Alicia Keys and Keyshia Cole for years to come.  I adore all three of those young women. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now don’t get it twisted.  Yes, I love Chrisette, Alicia and Keyshia but the Queen remains Mary J. Blige.  I love her song “Just Fine” and she is the bomb in the video!  Mary has always looked good in ALL of her videos. This is a sista’ who can wear some clothes!  Mary J you remain the queen of hip-hop/soul.  

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve been a fan of Eve since she first came out on Ruff Ryder Records.  I love her latest song “Tambourine” – if you have a damn pulse you cannot sit down when it plays!  That song is poppin’ big time!  I know EVERYONE has heard it by now but if you haven’t check out her live performance of that song on AOL Music Sessions.  She sounds great and she looks fantastic.  Bounce, bounce, bounce…pop, pop, pop…… That’s me dancing to the tune while I’m writing in this journal.  LOL!!   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nas has titled his upcoming CD “N*****. I must admit that when I first heard the title I started cracking up – I mean hard!  I laughed because I knew this was a very bold move on his part and it was going to cause a whole lot of controversy; especially since there is a movement to abolish the word.  For Nas to name his CD the N word might be madness or perhaps genius.  I don’t know which.  Nas has always been a very prolific artist and you better believe that there is a reason why he chose this title.  Let’s see what happens.  Will it sell?  Will it damage his career?  Will there be protests?  Let me know your feelings about this.  

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Country Music Awards on November 7 was entertaining.  An odd pairing was Jamie Foxx performing with Rascal Flatts.  Jamie sounded great.  But what the hell was wrong with the lead singer of Rascal Flatts?!  This dude sounded like he was on crack!  Terrible!  As always, Carrie Underwood was great!  I’m a big fan.  Another American Idle alum Kelly Pickler was seriously crying during her performance.  The song was about her mother abandoning her when she was a toddler.  Uh….Kellie….since you’re a grown woman it might be time to put that behind you.  I like Big & Rich; they put on a good show.  Jessica Simpson was sitting in the audience next to her dad.  I don’t know why I never noticed this before but I was startled by the size of Joe Simpson’s head.  It is way big!  Sorry, Joe – I had to mention that. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just a bit:  How many wives did James Brown leave behind?!  Wait.  Now that I think about it….I might have been married to James.  I need to check this out.  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

By now most of us have seen American Gangster and it is getting rave reviews.  Of course someone has to put a negative spin on the movie.  And that honor goes to the New York Daily News columnist Stanley Crouch.  In the November 5 issue of the NY Daily News he says that the movie is irresponsible for depicting Harlem drug lord Frank Lucas with qualities that he did not have.  Well, isn’t that what Hollywood usually does – take creative liberties?   I have mostly stopped reading his column because too often he comes off like he hates black people.  And, yes, he is black.  I don’t know what to make of him.  He sure is a grouch.  Go to the NY Daily News’ web site to read the entire article; it’s worth a read.  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NOT A GOOD LOOK

Busta Rhymes, Remy Ma, Lil’ Wayne AND Ja Rule were ALL in NYC Criminal Court on November 7th!  Daag!  All in one day!  Assault cases….weapons charges.  Get it together damn it!  This is not attractive.   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Can you believe it– it’s been five years since Jam Master Jay was murdered.  Hard to believe all that time has passed, but it has. My heart breaks each time a young black man, or woman is killed; and when the murder is not solved it hurts even more.  What are we going to do to stop this madness – as a country – as a race?    Tupac, Biggie, Jay……. prisons filled with black men……..why? 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Until next time….Smooches!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2007 11:49 am

    Thanks for the pingback to the site.

  2. Gennara Mack permalink
    November 14, 2007 12:35 pm

    Nice Jo Jo

    Keep up the good work, I enjoyed the comments, nice & neat.

    Thanks G

  3. Sandra permalink
    November 19, 2007 10:13 am

    Once again, it’s a pleasure reading JoJo’s Journal. You go Girl !!!!!

  4. February 25, 2008 2:45 pm

    JoJo

    Your posts are so funny, I read them all the time; have a wonderful day

Trackbacks

  1. Download Music » JoJo’s Journal - Nas, Chris Brown, Chrisette Michele, Eve and more

Leave a Reply

