Skip to content

JoJo’s Journal – Eddie Murphy, Susan L. Taylor, Britney Spears

January 4, 2008

picture-19.jpgWELCOME TO 2008! 

**************

Hey folks.  Just stopping by for a minute to give my take on what’s going on in the entertainment world and beyond.  And remember, it’s MY take.  Everybody has an opinion. 

**************

Eddie Murphy and Tracy Edmonds got married!  Wow, isn’t that a bit soon?!  Ya’ll know Tracy is singer/writer/producer Babyface’s ex-wife. It appears that Eddie hooked-up with her while he was still with Mel B. from the Spice Girls.  Mel and Eddie have a baby girl together which was quite fast also.  Whew!  Folks in Hollywood don’t waste any time.  Well, here’s wishing Eddie and Tracy a long and wonderful marriage.

**************

After 37 years Susan L. Taylor is leaving Essence magazine as its Editorial Director.  Essence is one of the most important magazines ever created for black people.  I have been reading it since its inception.  I consider it my “beauty bible”.  Ms. Taylor is one of the most influential black women in the world and I’m sure she will continue to inspire and influence us in the most positive way.  Thank you Ms. Taylor for all you’ve done for women of color – we love you!  And can you believe she is 61 years young?!  She sure doesn’t look it.

**************

Bad times follow Britney Spears around like a plague!  On January 3 cops, the fire department and an ambulance was sent to her home apparently because of some “custody battle” she was having with her ex-husband Kevin “Leech” Federline.  As far as I’m concerned Britney’s ex is nothing but a leech.  He smokes just as much weed and drinks just as much alcohol as Britney “used to”.  All he wants is more of Britney’s money.  How any judge gave him custody of those boys is way beyond my understanding.  I also understand that Brit’s problems are not drug or alcohol related; she apparently has some mental problems that are real and serious.  Being in the entertainment industry and marrying the leech as driven this young woman nuts!  You know what?  Although Britney is a grown woman, where the hell is her family?!  Her mother, father, older brother, grandparents, aunts, uncles – where are these people?!  We all have bad times in life but some of us more than others.  Britney – get real help!  You have two children to think about!  Oh, and get better lawyers. 

**************

Don’t get mad but I want to talk about Jaheim!  LOL!!  EVERYDAY I listen to his latest CD “Makings of A Man”.  I am telling ya’ll to pay attention to “Have You Ever” and “Make A Wish”.  Ladies, the lyrics in “Make A Wish” are beautiful – he says everything a woman would want to hear her man say.  I have now declared Jaheim the BEST singer of his generation.  He is the TRUE VOICE OF R&B.  I don’t want to hear any comments saying otherwise! 

**************

Isn’t it a damn shame that Ruben Studdard was dropped from his label, J Records, because of bad record sales?  I was ecstatic when he won American Idol but I knew that his body size would be detrimental to his career.  Unfortunately, Americans are too focused on the physical and not what really counts in an artist – talent.  The good news is Ruben will start touring with the smash Broadway play “Ain’t Misbehavin” for its 30th anniversary in the Fall.  Tear it up Ruben!     

**************

I would like recommend a good book to espot readers – “Paiges Web”.  I just finished it and loved it!  Guess who wrote it?  Shelia Goss the wonderful writer who allowed me to create JoJo’s Journal and get my foot in the door of entertainment writing.  Ya’ll get that book and support my sista’ Sheila.  I know you will enjoy it – I did. 

**************

Today I add a new section to JoJo’s Journal.  At least once a month I will introduce you to an artist that I’ve recently discovered.  It may be an artist from thirty years ago or an artist from today – but it will be a person who I have never heard of that I find interesting.  I find this a necessary addition to the Journal because far too many younger people today have no “music history”.  They know nothing except music from their generation.  Not good.  My goal is to just give you a bit of information on the artist and hope that you will do your research to get the whole story.  So….introducing…..

 ARTIST OF THE MONTH

BETTY DAVIS

Christine, an attorney who I work with, has very different and interesting taste in music.  Although my musical taste is vast, she is certainly broadening my musical knowledge even further.  Today she introduced me to a beautiful, black woman by the name of Betty Davis who was a gifted funk-soul singer/songwriter/producer and model.  Whew!  She sure wore a lot of hats!  In her time, the 1970’s, black female solo artist were rare.  But there was Betty with her BIG afro and sexy look funking with the best of them.  She was once married to the late jazz great Miles Davis for a year and hung out with people like Jimi Hendrix.  Even some of today’s artists have sampled her music, such as of Ice Cube and Talib Kweli.  Betty wrote all of her own songs and produced her own albums (except for the first one).  Her raspy voice reminds me of Tina Turner mixed with a bit of Janis Joplin, but Betty hated to be compared to anyone else.  I recently read an article on Ms. Davis and the writer said “Madonna has nothing on Betty Davis!”  Betty Davis was truly a gifted artist who helped to open doors for Madonna, Joi, Erykah Badu, Lauryn Hill, and Macy Gray. 

**************

Now go and do some research and buy music of real artists!  Learn something damn it! 

Hugs and Kisses!  Ciao!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosa Ann Bryant permalink
    January 5, 2008 5:28 pm

    Amen on Britney and Federlinr, girl. YOu put into words my senitments exactly. Judges often have these kind of blindspots and prejudice against young, sexy mothers. I don’t like Britney, at all, but I hate partiality from judges with a bias against working mothers, weighted against non-working, con-artist loser fathers. I loved what you say about Jaheim, I’m no authority on his tunes, but I trust you JoJo, you make me one to run out and buy this CD, girl. And where has this BETTY DAvis been? She sounds like a wonderful historical (fictitious) black heroine, or maybe a real character like Lady Day, or Dorothy Dandridge, or JOsephine Baker. Thank your friend Christine for introducing this Betty Davis to you and thank you as always for bringing to us in JOJO’s Journal. You get better and better.

  2. Rosa Ann Bryant permalink
    January 5, 2008 5:36 pm

    Also, I’d like to align myself with your accolades to the princess of Black fashion advise and black spirtual and emotional health for women. I didn’t realize she was 61 years old! I wouldn’t believe it if I didn’t know how you are about the facts that appear in your JOurnal. I am heartened to see evidence again of the fact of African American DNA, age is not the boss over us! Hope to see Susan Taylor in some other guise, serving to young black women the counsel of her years.

  3. Shelia permalink*
    January 6, 2008 11:30 pm

    Britney has been all over the news this weekend. Dr. Phil help her.

  4. January 9, 2008 11:37 pm

    Hey Britney is going to make a comeback but she grew up in the spotlight without any real guidance and made some bad mistakes, it’s obvious she’s emotionally unstable to ‘deal’ with the changes in her life and probably resorted to the actions as a cry for help but also to ‘cope’ in her own way. Hopefully she’ll realize what’s up before it’s too late and if she does, I think she’ll have a comeback.

    Jaheim, I haven’ heard any of his CD’s since the 2nd release Still Ghetto but I enjoyed his smooth croons fa’ sho! He’s definitely what the music industry needs more of including folks like Joss Stone, Nikka Costa & Leela James.

    No comment on Eddite & Tracy. Well bump that, I think while his wife was acting up, he messed around with Mel, not ‘intending’ for the pregnancy or maybe he thought she should’ve been it until he bumped into Tracy. I’m not a TRACY fanatic but Ido respect what she’s done in the entertainment industry. we’ll see.

    I’ll have to reseaqrch Betty Davis. If she was married to Miles she had to have so funk in her left thigh. And Susan Taylor, I knew that was coming when the new editor in chief was announced a few years ago & the way the magazine has changed.

    Great thoughts !

  5. January 16, 2008 12:12 pm

    I really like your new section! We need to get some education from the past and music is the perfect way!

Trackbacks

  1. JoJo’s Journal - Eddie Murphy, Susan L. Taylor, Britney Spears

Leave a Reply

