Skip to content

7 Random Thoughts With Author Michelle Monkou

April 13, 2008

Michelle Monkou has a knack for coming up with unforgettable and loveable characters such as the ones in her Masterson series: Sweet Surrender, Here and Now & Straight To The Heart. I recently read her latest book NO ONE BUT YOU in her new Ladies of Distinction series.  You won’t be able to put the book down as Monkou weaves a romantic tale between Sarafina Lovell and Jackson Thomas.  This couple seem doomed from the start with a rocky history between the two; however Sarafina’s sorority sisters decide to take fate into their own hands.   In NO ONE BUT YOU, the Ladies of Distinction prove that sisterhood is deeper than bloodties. 

Find out more about the author behind the book by reading the interview below:

7 Random Thoughts With Author Michelle Monkou

What’s one thing (besides writing) that you enjoy doing?
I enjoy watching movies, especially the behind the scenes with the director or screenwriter.  I think directing/writing movies would be my career of choice – if I had to do it all over again.
 
What’s your favorite quote?
Don’t call me and don’t wait for me to call you.  BTW, I made that up because it’s quite . . . me!
 
What television show best describes your life and why?
Since I don’t really look at the current TV shows, I may have to pick a few from the past: Married With Children, Cosby Show (Huxtables), What’s Happening, a touch of I Love Lucy,
 
What is your most valued possession? 
It would probably be my laptop because it contains my current work in progress.
 
What would your best friend say about you?
Probably that I’m blunt, prone to being grouchy, likes to be left alone, but loyal as hell.
 
What does love mean to you?
Love is abstract and doesn’t fit neatly in a box.  At its core, this state of being must be grounded in respect and love for oneself, first.  It’s easier to say what it isn’t for me: manipulative, obsessive, insecure, indelicate, neurotic, cold, cruel, financially dependent, imprisoning.
 
What is your favorite outfit to wear and why?
A T-shirt, long enough to cover my butt, my bedroom slippers, my hair out and free, and definitely no freaking bra!  As I get older, I realize that the clothes, shoes, styles are there to remind me that I’m no longer a skinny thing or a young thing.  And I’m not one of these desperate women who have to show the world that she’s still got it with low riders that show the crack of my a$$, or short tops that gives the world a free peek at stretch marks, or shoes that form your toes into a permanent upside down V.

No One But You is available in stores now. To learn more about Michelle Monkou, visit her website: http://www.michellemonkou.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

