Skip to content

Love’s Forever Changes CD

April 13, 2008

Forever Changes Listening Party Links
Windows Media

Real Player

Rightfully regarded as the L.A.-based psychedelic folk-rock pioneers’ finest achievement, Love’s FOREVER CHANGES is an indispensable masterpiece. Often compared to Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and Pet Sounds, the third and final album by the original Love lineup remains a timeless musical experience four decades after its Elektra release.

Produced by band cofounder Arthur Lee and The Doors’ engineer/producer Bruce Botnick, the visionary album weaves a rich tapestry of sound as Lee’s quavering voice delivers lyrics that are both enigmatic and poetic as he is backed by the band’s gorgeous melodies and evocative orchestral arrangements.

Rhino celebrates the 40th anniversary of this truly essential album with a Collector’s Edition of FOREVER CHANGES that contains the original 11 songs along with an alternate mix of the album comprised almost entirely of unreleased tracks. The bonus material also includes a trove of unreleased gems culled from the album’s recording sessions. The two-disc set will be available April 22 in stores and at for a suggested price of $24.98.

Recorded during the Summer of Love in Hollywood, CA, the album is the group’s most fully realized studio effort, featuring Lee (vocals, guitar), John Echols (lead guitar), Bryan MacLean (rhythm guitar, vocals), Ken Forssi (bass) and Michael Stuart (drums, percussion). The original album includes the classic “Andmoreagain,” plus the Lee-penned tracks “Red Telephone,” “A House Is Not A Motel” and “Live And Let Live,” as well as “Alone Again Or” and “Old Man” written by MacLean.

Disc 2 contains an unreleased alternate mix of all but one of the original tracks. (The alternate mix of the album closer, “You Set The Scene,” first appeared on Rhino’s 2001 reissue of the album.) The disc’s ten bonus songs feature six unreleased tracks including an original mix for the album outtake “Wonder People (I Do Wonder),” an alternate electric backing track for “Andmoreagain,” tracking session highlights for “The Red Telephone” and an outtake of “Wooly Bully.” The previously released bonus cuts include “Your Mind And We Belong Together,” the b-side “Laughing Stock” and a demo version of “Hummingbirds,” a song that would later become “The Good Humor Man He Sees Everything Like This.”

FOREVER CHANGES was recently inducted into the 2008 Grammy Hall of Fame.

A tribute concert honoring Arthur Lee and the 40th anniversary of FOREVER CHANGES is scheduled for June 7th at the Malibu Performing Arts Center (MPAC).

 To purchase, CLICK HERE.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: