Skip to content

JoJo’s Journal – Brit, Miley, Star and more

April 27, 2008

What’s up good people?!  Just stopping by for a minute to give my take on what’s going on in the entertainment world and beyond.  And remember, it’s MY take, everyone has an opinion.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

My girl Britney is heading back to the sitcom “How I Met Your Mother” for another guest appearance.  That’s right Brit!  For all of you haters –  Brit will get back on top no matter what you haters say!  J

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Racy photos of 15-year old Disney star Miley Cyrus (a/k/a Hannah Montana) have surfaced on the Internet and I for one am very disappointed.  All of the little girls in my family adore her, as do I, and I thought she was basically “safe”.   I suppose I should not be surprised considering the state of America that we now live in, but I wanted her to stay clean at least until she is 18.  Damn!  The youth in America have very few people to look up to, especially in the entertainment world, that’s why I’ve always said to follow the lead of your parents, teachers and spiritual leader.  Most entertainers are too corrupt.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, well, well…..Star Jones and her husband Al Reynolds are heading for divorce court after 3 1/2 years of marriage.  Far too many rumors were swirling around about Al from the get go!  Some folks said he is gay, bi-sexual, etc.  Whatever. That’s what you get Star for trying to get all those freebies at your wedding!  I understand that she has a good pre-nup agreement.  After all, she is a lawyer.  Dude didn’t work one day in the entire time he was married to Star.  Lets see how much of her cash he tries to get. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

According to the web site Black Voices, Brandy signed a new deal with Epic Records.  I certainly hope so because we have not heard from Brandy in a long time – she hasn’t had a deal in 4 years!  Her last CD “Afrodisiac” was released back in 2004 on Atlantic Records.  Atlantic dropped her from the label because of low sales.  Here’s wishing Brandy a BIG comeback!  You can do it girl!  J

  ~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember the actress Stacy Dash?  You may know her from the 90’s sitcom “Clueless”.  Anyhoo, she has always  looked far younger than her age.  Check her out on the cover of the latest King magazine.  I cannot believe that Stacy is now 42 years old!  She looks like she is in her early 30’s!  I ain’t mad at ya!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ya’ll know Raven-Symone who played the cute kid Olivia on The Cosby Show.  Well, that was back in the day.  Since then girlfriend has become a rich superstar – she starred in The Cheetah Girls 1 & 2 and stars on Disney channels’ “That’s So Raven”.  But do you guys realize this young woman is worth $400 million!  What the hell?! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wesley Snipes has been sentenced to three years on tax charges.  The prosecutors sought the maximum time (3 years) because they said they “wanted to make an example of Mr. Snipes to deter other tax dodgers.”  Now that is a damn shame!  Put him in serious danger – in the belly of the beast to prove a point?!  I think that is HORRIBLE.  All American citizens should denounce such madness from the IRS!  Okay, that’s all I’m going to say – I don’t want the Feds coming after my broke ass!  LOL!!  I guess Wesley better get his “Blade Runner” strength up!  And Wes – I hear you shouldn’t bend down and pick up the soap.  Just sharing information.

~~~~~~~~~~

 Actress Tia Mowry of The Game, which is one of my favorite sitcoms, married actor Cory Hardrict on April 20.  I saw a couple of photos from the wedding and of course she looked stunning.  Remember when she and her twin used to star on Sister, Sister?  I used to watch that show all the time!  Congrats Tia!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gosh darnit!  My favorite singer, Amy Winehouse, has been arrested again!  Apparently on April 23 she “head butted” a MAN outside a London pub.  What a punk!  A 90 pound woman knocks him about a bit and he calls the cops!  Awwwww….come on…. .leave Amy alone! You know she’s missing her Blake and can’t think straight!  J But the good news is they released her; she is a free woman to go and head butt someone else.  J

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don’t know if anyone cares but I’ll mention it because it’s weird.  Tiny ex-actor Gary Coleman got married to a human in August 2007.  They are now set to appear on Divorce Court to end that weirdness.  The shows air May 1 and 2.  The poor guy was a cute kid with a good career until his parents stole all of his millions and then he simply went bonkers. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Not Entertainment But I Must Mention It

I’m sure everyone who reads JoJo’ Journal is aware of the Sean Bell murder case in New York City.  Sean Bell was killed by NYC police in 2006 on the eve of his impending wedding.  On April 25, 2008 all three police involved were found not guilty of ALL charges.  As far as I’m concerned it was straight up MURDER!  The ANIMALS fired FIFTY (50) shots at three unarmed men!  YES – ALL THREE VICTIMS WERE UNARMED!  It turns out the judge in the matter was one-sided in his listening, his thinking and his heart.  How could anyone simply be allowed to walk away from killing an unarmed person?  Easy – just be a New York City police officer.  That’s my opinion.  What’s yours?

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ARTIST OF THE MONTH

CURTIS MAYFIELD

~~~~~~~~~~~~

As I write about my artist of the month I’m getting misty eyed.  Two words – Curtis Mayfield

Possibly the most socially-conscience musician of all time, Curtis Mayfield created a soundtrack to Black America and the Civil Rights Movement, along with legends like Bob Dylan, James Brown and Sly Stone.  Born June 3, 1942 in the ghetto of Chicago, Curtis dropped out of high school early and in 1956 joined a group called The Roosters, who two years later changed their name to The Impressions.  Another member of The Impressions was the great Jerry Butler.  When Jerry Butler left the group Curtis became the lead singer and main composer.  The Impressions had hits with songs like, “Gypsy Woman” and “Amen,” which was included in the soundtrack of the 1963 film “Lilies of the Field”, starring Sidney Poitier.  And even more hits came with “Keep On Pushin’,” “People Get Ready,” “Choice of Colors,” “Fool For You,” “This is My Country” and “Check Out Your Mind.” All of these songs were playing across America while the Civil Rights Movement was burning on.  Mayfield’s song “Keep on Pushing” had been an anthem for Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Civil Rights Movement.

In 1970, Curtis left The Impressions and began a solo career, founding the independent record label Curtom Records.  Not only was he a great writer and musician, but an astute businessman.  He also wrote songs for other artists like 1970s stars The Five Stairsteps and Walter Jackson.  But his most commercial success came with his 1972 album Superfly, the soundtrack to the blaxploitation film of the same name, and one of the most influential albums in history.

Superfly’s success resulted in Mayfield being hired for additional soundtracks, some of which he wrote and produced while having other artists perform the vocals.  One of my favorite soundtracks of all time is from the 1974 movie Claudine, which was performed by Gladys Knight & the Pips, and Aretha Franklin recorded the soundtrack for Sparkle in 1976.  

Unfortunately, tragedy struck on August 13, 1990 when Curtis was paralyzed from the neck down after stage lighting equipment fell on him at an outdoor concert at Wingate Field in Flatbush, Brooklyn, New York.  He received the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 1995.

His health continued to decline and in February, 1998, he had to have his right leg amputated due to diabetes. And then on March 15, 1999 Curtis was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.  Sadly brother Mayfield died on December 26, 1999 in Roswell, Georgia surrounded by his family. As a member of The Impressions, Mayfield was posthumously inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame in 2003.

Musical genius, composer, activist, musician and pioneer of funk and of politically conscious African-American music – I will never forget CURTIS MAYFIELD.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

“People get ready – there’s a train a commin’

U don’t need no baggage – U just get on board

All U need is faith – to hear the diesels hummin’

U don’t need no ticket – U just thank the lord”

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Power to the People

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelia permalink*
    April 28, 2008 9:16 am

    JoJo, it’s been busy in entertainment. Here’s my take. Britney was pretty good on that show. Whoever is sending out these photos of Miley is wrong–she’s a minor. That’s just tasteless. The question would be did the parents sign off on this??? I think folks should respect Stars privacy during this matter. Going through a divorce is hard so I can’t even imagine having to go through it in the public eye. I hope Al doesn’t call himself doing a tell all book. It’ll be another book that I WILL NOT buy. I wished Brandy’s peeps would contact me, I have a few songs that would be perfect for her that I wrote. Stacy Dash is all over the place isn’t she. I just love Raven. She’s a good role model for girls. She shows that you don’t have to be a size 0 and be happy. Wesley’s attitude got him in this situation. I think if he was more humble, he wouldn’t have gotten the time. He’s reminded as well as others that no one is above the law. Tia and her new hubbie look so cute together. Side note: I hope they don’t cancel The Game. That’s my show. I got my TV set to record Gary Coleman on Divorce Court. I just saw him on Tyra’s show and I thought they were happy…apparently I was watching an old re-run.

  2. May 11, 2008 7:57 am

    good stuff,best regards

  3. February 12, 2011 6:05 pm

    You made some decent factors there. I seemed on the internet for the difficulty and located most individuals will go together with together with your website.

  4. February 19, 2011 3:16 pm

    A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he the truth is bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If possible, as you turn out to be expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with extra particulars? It is highly useful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog publish!

    • jbrooker permalink
      February 22, 2011 10:31 am

      Hi:

      Regarding your comments below, what are you talking about? 🙂 What have I debated?

      JoJo

Trackbacks

  1. new york divorce records

Leave a Reply

