Skip to content

7 Random Thoughts with Gwynne Forster

June 8, 2008

Gwynne Forster is not only a multiple award winning author, she’s one of my favorite authors. I was introduced to her books several years ago and have been a big fan of hers every since. I’ve read all of her books including her two latest books – Drive Me Wild and Obsession. I am honored to present to you 7 Random Thoughts with Gwynne Forster.

What’s one thing (besides writing) that you enjoy doing?
I enjoy singing. I’ve always sung. In the second grade, I could harmonize the alto part of any song amenable to four-part harmony. I don’t sing alto any longer, haven’t since my teens, because my voice range is lower.When my voice was at its prime during my thirties, I had the nerve to sing any place and in anyone’s presence. I usually told myself–in fun– that those present were not expecting to hear Leontyne Price. But in fact, I had a decent voice, inherited from my father who possessed a rich baritone. It’s not bad now, but the top of my range is heading south these days. I still enjoy the gift, though, and when I’m not singing around the house,  I’m listening to music. I write best when listening to anything by Mozart.

What’s your favorite quote?
“A man’s reach should exceed his grasp, or what’s a heaven for.” –Robert Browning

What television show best describes your life and why?
None. If a TV show described my life, it wouldn’t stay on the air a minute after its first showing. Since I rarely watch television, I don’t know anything about the situation comedies.

What is your most valued possession?
My most valued possession? Haven’t thought about it. What would I most hate to lose? My wedding rings.

What would your best friend say about you?

My best friend would probably say that I am loyal,dependable, have a sharp sense of humor and a sharp tongue.

What does love mean to you?
The meaning of love depends on who possesses it and who seeks it. For a child, love is assurance that of warmth and caring and that all is well in its world  between it and its parents and siblings. Love between siblings, between parents and children, between close friends, between man and wife, between illicit lover, love between two straights,love between two gays or lesbians are all real, but different. It seems to me that these emotional attachments have different properties, because in each case, different kinds of needs are met.  My husband’s love for me is part of my identity.

What is your favorite outfit to wear and why?
I can’t say what the answer to this is. I guess I don’t have outfits.I usually wear black accessories with a red suit, but on occasion I’ll wear gray with it. I like myself in dusty rose or lavender pink. I may wear gray with it or navy blue. I like both looks. I feel more comfortable in some things than in others. I guess the bottom line is that I like to dress up, and I always  make certain that everything matches..

To learn more about Gwynne Forster and her books, be sure to visit her online at

Website: www.gwynneforster.com

My Space: http://www.myspace.com/gwynnef

Blog: http://gwynneforster.blogspot.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2008 10:55 am

    Thanks for this presentation. I’ve had the opportunity to spend a bit of time with Ms. Forster. She is a dynamic lady.

    In terms of singing — yes she can. She did Karaoke at the Slam Jam and surprised us all.

    Linda!

  2. June 9, 2008 5:11 pm

    I haven’t been blessed to hear her sing yet but maybe if I make it to next year’s Slam Jam 🙂

Leave a Reply

