Skip to content

Usher Here I Stand CD Review

June 16, 2008


Usher’s “Here I Stand” is for the grown and sexy. I wasn’t sure Usher could deliver songs that could compare to his previous CD “Confessions” but in my opinion it’s better. The first single was a club banger “Love in this Club.”  If you’re not into his uptempo songs, don’t sleep on Here I Stand because Usher delivers some sensational slow songs.

As Usher says, the song “Something Special” is “for the lovers.”  Love You Gently is by far my favorite song on the CD. It should be called “foreplay.” I also like the song  Appetite and can see it being a single. The music for the song Here I Stand sounds like a throwback to the 70’s. It has a groovy melody.  

There are other uptempo songs on the CD like What’s Your Name and Best Thing with Jay Z.

Here I Stand‘s best offerring is the slow jams or what I like to call “slow grinds.”  The music is slow enough yet fast enough to have folks rocking their hips; whether they are dancing with their loved one or singing along solo. ~ Shelia M. Goss, entertainment writer and national best-selling author of Double Platinum and My Invisible Husband

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Love Jones permalink
    July 8, 2008 2:22 pm

    Yeah right…his CD is so corny that it is almost pitiful. Who writes this stuff anyway?!

  2. December 9, 2008 2:03 am

    the album for me was disapointing, it had a few good tracksbut overall it was a letdown

Leave a Reply

