Skip to content

JOJO’S JOURNAL – BERNIE MAC AND ISAAC HAYES

August 11, 2008

Hey folks, what’s up.  Just stopping by for a minute to give my take on what’s going on in the entertainment world and beyond.  And remember, it’s MY take, everyone has an opinion.

~~~~~~~~~~~

 

I have not updated JoJo’s Journal over the last couple of weeks and it will be down for the next month while I upgrade.  But I had to take this moment to talk about the passing of comedian/actor Bernie Mac and singer, composer, musician, producer and actor Isaac Hayes. 

 

How strange is it that the two actors, who just made a movie together, “Soul Men”, would die a day apart?  But life is full of oddities and things that can never be explained. 

 

I loved Bernie Mac!  He was one of the funniest comedians in the world and he was a very good actor who seemed to be getting better all the time.  I found his sitcom “The Bernie Mac Show” to be a good wholesome show that you could watch with your children or grandparents, which is rare these days in television.  I also loved Bernie in Ocean’s Eleven, Guess Who, Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Santa.  He was a family man who was married to his wife for 32 years.  Now that says a lot about the type of man he was.  My heart goes out to his wife, daughter and granddaughter.  As far as I’m concerned, at 50 he was too young to die, but when our Father calls us home – we must go.  I will miss you funny man!  RIP.

 

Growing up in the 70’s, the music of Isaac Hayes played a big part in my life.  Nothing, I mean nothing, will ever be as interesting as his Oscar winning composition, The Theme From Shaft.  Isaac Hayes was a musical genius for sure and a very big part of the 70’s black power movement.  He brought black music to another level; made it more “classic”.  Check back with JoJo’s Journal later this week and read my take on the great Isaac Hayes. 

 

My advice to everyone who reads JoJo’s Journal is to show love to your family and friends NOW.  Tell them you love them.  Tomorrow is not promised to anyone whether rich or poor, young or old, black or white.  Live for today!  Live now!  Follow your dreams now because you may not have tomorrow. 

 

Peace and love,

 

JoJo 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 11:00 am

    Both will be missed. I did a tribute to Bernie Mac on my other site:
    http://sheliagoss.com/2008/08/13/let-it-go/#comments

  2. August 15, 2008 3:01 pm

    yeah we really lost two legends… it’s hard to believe that the Mac is gone…

Leave a Reply

