Skip to content

JOJO’S JOURNAL – TYLER PERRY, COOLIO AND MORE

October 22, 2008

Hey folks, what’s up.  Just stopping by for a minute to give my take on what’s going on in the entertainment world and beyond.  And remember, it’s MY take, everyone has an opinion.

~~~~~~~~~~~

 Movie mogul Tyler Perry opened his new state-of-the-art film and TV studio in Atlanta earlier this month.  I heard that the grand opening was just that – GRANDE!  Some of those attending were Oprah and her man Steadman, the legendary Sidney Poitier, the ageless Ruby Dee, Will Smith and his wife Jada Pinkett Smith and hundreds of other luminaries and celebrities.  Mary J. Blige performed.  Those in attendance said Tyler’s studio rivals those of any Hollywood studio.  Right on!  (I best you haven’t heard that term in a while.  LOL!!)  I don’t know Tyler Perry but I am extremely proud of him. I cried as though it was a friend or relative seeing their dream come alive.  Tyler Perry is in incredible man – just a few short years ago he was living in his car.  Now he is an entertainment mogul living on top of the world!  That has got to be inspirational to us all.  Lets not give up on our dreams.  Keep it moving! 

 

Oh yeah – The House of Payne is my favorite TV show.  Ya’ll better tune in and get your weekly laugh!

~~~~~~~~~~~

Coolio has a new reality show on Oxygen called “Coolio’s Rules”.  The show focuses on Coolio and his four young-adult children who live with him. Even though I’m a Coolio fan,  I’ve watched the show and probably won’t watch again.  Let me ask you guys this – does Coolio have any money?  You know, real money?  I ask because the damn house looks cheap and a mess.  His kids come across as a bunch of ungrateful, greedy losers.  Okay, I should NOT say the following but I am – Coolio has three daughters and not one of them are attractive.  I know, I know – that’s not nice!  But it’s the first thing I noticed!  Those girls need help!  Ouch!  His son is basically attractive but a lazy loser.  The son probably has a different mother.  If any of you have seen the show please let me know what you think of it.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I tell ya, that Britney Spears is on track to reclaiming her glory days!  I’m so excited for her!  She is looking fantastic, sounding good and it appears she has won the war with all of her past demons.  Her father did a wonderful job getting his daughter back on track.  And her original manager Larry Rudolph is back as her manager.  That’s the man that helped her to become a star.  Smart move Brit!  The new CD drops on December 2, her 27th birthday.  If you haven’t heard her new song “Womanizer”, go to her web site and check out the video.   I like it.  Welcome back Brit Brit! 

~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve been enjoying Ne-Yo’s latest CD “Year of the Gentleman”.  I cannot get enough of “Closer” and “Miss Independent”.   The song “Nobody” sounds just like Michael Jackson!  I had to listen closely to determine if it is Michael or Ne-Yo singing!  Somebody hit me up and let me know who the hell is singing.  I love Ne-Yo.  He is definitely at the top of the heap when it comes to talent.  Excellent writer, interesting entertainer.  And he’s cute too.  J

~~~~~~~~~~~

Beyonce’s new song “If I Were A Boy” is fantastic!  It’s different from anything she’s released thus far.  I would not expect anything less from Ms. B.  A couple of weeks ago I was in a store shopping for my son when it was playing and I immediately started swaying and bobbing my head.  Irresistible!  There is a bit of controversy surrounding the new single because it’s being said the song was stolen from singer/songwriter BC Jean.  Ooops!  I’ve heard both versions and BC’s is very good, but Beyonce’s is much better.  Ms. B DID NOT steal anything; she doesn’t need to!  She PAID for it!  If you are interested in hearing BC Jean’s original version go to her MySpace page.  BC Jean is talented and very cute but she is no Beyonce!  This chick is LUCKY that Beyonce was even interested in the song! 

~~~~~~~~~~~

Just a quickie ….. I love Michelle Williams’ song “The Greatest” and she is ravishing in the video!  To her record company:  please, please promote Michelle’s new music!  She is so very talented, sweet and humble.  Luv you Michelle!  J

~~~~~~~~~~~

 Over the last few days we have lost two more great singers – Levi Stubbs and DeeDee Warwick. 

 Levi Stubbs was the lead singer of The Four Tops since they began in 1954, originally calling themselves The Four Aims.  Levi is my favorite male lead vocalist of all time.  Through the years I have been involved in debates regarding who was the best male lead singer – David Ruffin of The Temptations or Levi Stubbs of The Four Tops.  It was very hard to decide and it took me over twenty years to finally admit that Levi Stubbs was the best of the best.  Some of the many songs that made me fall in love with Levi’s haunting voice are “Baby I Need Your Loving”, “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)”, “It’s the Same Old Song”, “Reach Out I’ll Be There”, “Standing in the Shadows of Love”, “Bernadette”, “Still Water (Love)”, and “Ain’t No Woman (Like the One I’ve Got)”.  If you have not heard those songs, please do yourself a favor and go out and buy a greatest hits CD by The Four Tops.  I promise you that you are going to become a fan and love me for suggesting  it.  RIP Levi, I will always love you and thank you for so much special music – teardrops L

 DeeDee Warwick is the sister of the legendary Dionne Warwick.  She never found the commercial success of her older sister Dionne but she was still a wonderful R&B singer.  Like her sister, she started out in gospel music but then switched to secular music.  DeeDee had a few hits in the 60’s and early 70’s but did mostly session work and had to live in the shadow of her big sister Dionne.  Although relegated to the background, she was a sought after session singer and worked with acts like the Drifters, Chuck Jackson, Garnet Mimms, Aretha Franklin, Nina Simone, and Wilson Pickett.  Go to YouTube and watch the many videos featuring DeeDee and enjoy her wonderful voice.  DeeDee was only 63 when she died on October 18, which is too young by today’s standards.  RIP DeeDee – teardrops L

 ~~~~~~~~~~~

OMG!  Can you believe the presidential election is a couple of weeks away?!  Ya’ll better vote!

~~~~~~~~~~~

 Talk to ya’ll later!

 Smooches!

 

Live life out loud!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

