Skip to content

JOJO’S JOURNAL – WANDA SYKES, BEYONCE, AMY AND MORE

November 17, 2008

jojo-0252Hey folks, what’s up.  Just stopping by for a minute to give my take on what’s going on in the entertainment world and beyond.  And remember, it’s MY take, everyone has an opinion.

~~~~~~~~~~~

 

First let me say…..O B A M A!  J

~~~~~~~~~~~

 I am a fan of actress/comedian Wanda Sykes.  Love her, love her!  Wanda came “out of the closet” this past weekend at a gay rights rally in Las Vegas.  She said she doesn’t usually talk about her sexual orientation, but felt she had to speak out against the passing of California’s Proposition 8 law.  In case you don’t know, the Proposition 8 law restricts the definition of marriage to a union between a man and a woman.  Of course, gay people in California are in an uproar about that.  I never cared whether Wanda was gay or not; I don’t care who is gay as long as it’s not my child.  Nothing against gays, but that’s how I feel.  But if my child was gay I would love him regardless. 

 Rosanne Barr blames Black people for the passing of Proposition 8 since 70% of California Blacks voted for this law.  She’s an idiot.  Google this and see for yourself what she says.  She and others are also blaming Black churches.  Anyone who blames the Black church for going against gay marriage are IDIOTS and MORONS!  Listen, I am open-minded, but I am a Christian.  The Bible speaks against gay marriage so of course churches are going to be against it. 

~~~~~~~~~~~

Did ya know that Beyoncé made $80 MILLION in 2007?!  Whew!  That’s HUGE!  And that’s not even her entire worth; that’s just what she made in one year!  That is some serious cheddar!  You paupers!  J

 Also, did you catch Beyoncé’s recent appearance on The Oprah Winfrey Show?  Well, if you didn’t you missed a wonderful interview and performance.  Ms. B. always looks beautiful, but she was simply stunning on the show.  Her skin is amazing!  She performed If I Were A Boy and she performed it well.  After all of her success, money and fame – Beyoncé Knowles remains humble and sweet.  She is certainly an American Princess living the American Dream.

~~~~~~~~~~~

The most talented celebrity drug addict of her generation, Amy Winehouse, has taken down her signature beehive.  Have you seen her? If not, just Google her and I’m sure a recent photo will pop up.  Let me know what you think.  Does she look better or worse?  Does this mean she’s getting clean? 

~~~~~~~~~~~

Serena Williams is doing a wonderful thing in Kenya, Africa.  She has partnered with Hewlett Packard and an organization called Build African Schools to open The Serena Williams Secondary School.  I love wealthy people like her who unselfishly give their time and money to help others.  It’s wonderful.  I just wish wealthy Americans would help poor Americans first.  I always thought you take care of home before you take care of others.  

~~~~~~~~~~~

This past weekend I went to an old school R&B show up in the Pocono Mountains with my dear friend Joe.  Thanks Joe for the treat!  J  It was nice to see The Stylistics, Blue Magic, Evelyn Champaign King, The Delfonics, Eddie Holman and Kurtis Blow.  Everyone was sounding good and looking good.  I was very impressed with the vocals of Russell Thompkins, Jr. the original lead singer of The Stylistics.  He sounds the same as he did when he was a young man!  Not so for the lead singer of The Delfonics, William Hart.  The man has completely lost his voice; it was pathetic.  Dude ruined his classic songs LaLa Means I love You, Didn’t I Blow Your Mind This Time – whatever songs they sang they ruined them!  The Delfonics is one of my favorite groups from the 70’s but they were raggedy as hell!  It’s time for them to say goodbye to the music industry.  Sorry guys, you just don’t have it anymore. 

 Kurtis Blow was great!  He had the audience on their feet and losing their minds.  Alright now Kurtis! 

 Evelyn Champaign King did a good show.  Sista must be about 48 years old but she dances like a woman of 25!  She worked it!  Check out a few photos.  The guys in the shiny suits are from the Stylistics; that’s Evelyn Champaign King between them.  That’s me and my friends Joe and Kevin.  The rest are folks enjoying the event.   

 

jojo-023

  jojo-022~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~jojo-024jojo-020jojo-021jojo-012jojojojo-019

Love yourself and each other

Smooches!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shelia permalink*
    November 17, 2008 4:49 pm

    Jo, I wish I could have gone to the concert with you all. I’m glad you had a great time and thanks for sharing the pics.

Leave a Reply

