Skip to content

eSpot Author of the Week – Brian W Smith

November 24, 2008

7 Questions with Brian W Smith
By Shelia M Goss

brianbookcover

What is the main premise for your new book?

 

My new book, Nina’s Got A Secret explores the lengths a woman will go to keep her darkest secret hidden. The main character in this book (Nina) makes a very difficult decision…she chooses to save her biological child during an accident and lets her stepchild die. The plot thickens when she tells her husband an altered version of what really happened to his daughter. Her goal is to take the lie to her grave, but she has one problem – someone saw what she did. The book forces the reader to question how far he/she would continue a lie.

 


As a male author, do you find it hard writing female characters? Why or why not?

 

I don’t really have a problem writing female characters. As a matter of fact, most of books are dominated by female characters. In my opinion, women aren’t that different from men. Our language may be a little more aggressive at times, but women are a lot like men. Women talk just as much trash as men; they just aren’t as loud with it. Women sneak around just as much as men; they are just smoother with it. The bottom line is – I try to bring realism to the character. So far, that has enabled me to write female characters that have been well received.

 

What’s your favorite quote & why?

 

I firmly believe that there are really only two types of people in this world – talkers and doers. This quote by Arthur G. Gaston (a successful black entrepreneur) sums it up:

 

“Greatness takes time. What you can do, you ought to do. But if you are satisfied with just getting by then step aside for the man or woman who isn’t.”

 

                                                                                  Arthur G. Gaston

 


What is your most valued possession?

 

My faith in God is my most valued possession. Without my faith in God I really believe I would have lost my mind by now – that’s real talk. My second most valued possessions are my children. I have two sons (15 and 10) and all that I do is designed to give them the type of foundation and start in life I never had.

 


What does love mean to you?

 

Honestly, I don’t know what it means. I just know that when I feel it for someone, there isn’t a thing on this earth I wouldn’t do for that person.

 


What’s one thing every woman should know about men?

 

Men hold women to higher standards. Women may be willing to forgive men for our screw-ups, but the male ego is too fragile too ever forgive a woman’s screw-ups. It ain’t fair, but neither is life.

 

 

What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

 

This is a hard hustle. Writing a book is the easy part; selling the book is the real challenge. Be ready to get your grind on. If you aren’t ready to grind, you won’t last long.

briansmithBrian W. Smith is an author and the owner of Hollygrove Publishing, Inc. He has been writing for three years, and has written five books (The S.W.A.P. Game, Mama’s Lies – Daddy’s Pain, Donna’s Dilemma, Final Fling, and Nina’s Got A Secret). His books have sold nearly 34,000 copies combined.

Brian is a native of New Orleans, La., (uptown area 17th Ward “Hollygrove”) and currently resides in Dallas, TX. His educational background includes two Bachelor Degrees (Business Administration and Criminal Justice) and a Master Degree in Business Administration (MBA).

Go to www.hollygrovepublishing.com to learn more about Brian W. Smith and his publishing company.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 8:00 am

    Mr. Smith will tour bring you back to the Metro Jackson, MS area? We would love to sit down with you.

Leave a Reply

