Skip to content

Femi Interview & eSpot Music Artist of the Week

November 30, 2008
tags:
by

femi2 5 Questions with Femi
By Shelia M. Goss

Describe yourself in three words or less.
Spiritual, Passionate and Funny!

What do you do in your spare time when you want to relax and unwind?
In my space time I like watching my favorite t.v shows (I watch them online because i don’t own a t.v) I absolutely LOVE CSI (VEGAS FIRST, THEN MIAMI), Heroes & Daily Show w/Jon Stewart (he’s just a ham but intelligent). When i want to truly unwind I go for a RUN.

What was the last good movie you saw?
Lost in Translation and Garden State

What music artists do you listen to the most?
I listen mostly to the old-school stuff Prince aka Jamie Starr, James Brown, Teena Marie, etc. and all things FUNK…but the more modern artist included Punk Funk Mob, Omar, Sy Smith, Noisettes and I’m really feeling SKA music from the 70’s right now.

Pick three songs from your CD and tell me about each one.
– “Crush” – i like this song because it’s a love song but not in the traditional sense. It takes me back to an era of when Sade first came on the scene…Timeless! Classy! Introspective!

– “If I knew” – Its got an old-school reggae vibe and makes me want to be on a beach in a tropical place with a drink in my hand admiring the ocean and all of it mysteries.

– “I Want You” – I loves this one because it reminds me of the group Earth, Wind & Fire. The horns section is fierce! It’s my idea of what Hybrid-Jazz would sound like.

I was recently introduced to Femi’s music with Sweet Water Soul.  Sweet Water Soul is refreshing and relaxing music. It reminded me of music from the early 80s. Femi’s sound is a blend of R & B and jazz. You can tell what her influences were while listening–she seemed to pull from some of the greats like Sade, Phyliss Hyman and others. ~ Interview by Shelia M. Goss – author of Double Platinum, My Invisible Husband, etc (www.sheliagoss.com).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

