Skip to content

Lorraine Elzia – eSpot Author of the Week

February 17, 2009

le_mistress4 Mistress Memoirs is  Lorraine Elzia’s debut novel and she is the Espot Author of the Week.

5 Questions with Author Lorraine Elzia

By Shelia M. Goss

What do you want to do different in 2009 that you didn’t do in 2008?

I’m going to stop and smell the roses.  The white rose of peace, the yellow rose of happiness and the red rose of love.  I think that in 2008 I was so concerned with making things happen that I didn’t take time to enjoy life.  2009 is about promoting my book, promoting my neighbor and promoting myself. I don’t want to look back on life like an old photograph, trying to remember the good times.  This year, I am going to celebrate them as I receive them.

What song would you use as the soundtrack of your life and why?

“It’s gon be nice by Yolanda Adams.”  Why?  Because of these words in particular:  “It’s gon be nice, It’s gon be nice, whatever’s in store for me, it’s gon be nice.  It’s crazy right now lord, but that’s when you shine.  I can’t stop shouting Lord, it’s gon be nice.  I don’t have the right to give up, I don’t have the right to give in, you always brought me through, so I’m gonna put my trust in you.” God has great things in store for me and it’s gon be nice when he’s done working with his lump of clay that is me.

What television show best describes your life and why? 

American Idol.  I think I am always rehearsing and auditioning for something in life trying to get that big break.  I have a few Simon’s that give me the tough love, a few Paula’s that suga coat everything, and a few Randy’s who keep it real.  But all and all, I am on a journey to be the best that I can be.

What’s your favorite quote & why? 

I like to inhale quotes like vitamins daily since their wisdom does a body good.  My favorite quote (right now) is a hodgepodge of three quotes that I put together to convey one thought:

My mind is a garden. My thoughts are the seeds. My harvest will be either flower or weeds. (Mel Weldon) The best way to predict your future is to create it. (Unknown) The whole point of being alive is to evolve into the complete person you were intended to be.”(Oprah Winfrey) 

 

If you put those three quotes together as one combined thought, that is a shot,  straight with no chaser, to marinate on.

 

What character in your new book could you most relate to? 

Well, that would be the main character, Kahla.  Since the book is written in first person, I had to BECOME her in order to be able to capture her thoughts.  I also feel that all of us, myself included, have done something in our life that we did not know why we did it.  All of us had that voice in the back of our head, at one time or another that said, “Stay away from that hot stove,” yet we touched it anyway.  So I can connect with her on that level and I feel her confusion concerning her own actions.

About Mistress Memoirs:

Mistress Memoirs is the story of Kahla Thompson, a beautiful, single, and independently successful woman who possesses all the material goods a woman could desire. Her life is surreptitiously turned upside down when she meets Kevin Eckhart, a married man with a million-dollar smile and a seductive charm which she falls prey to. The two have a magnetic, compelling attraction for one another and soon begin a relationship under the guise of friendship.  Kahla struggles to suppress her hunger for Kevin, but soon finds herself in a paradox; fighting her natural propensity to avoid an affair versus her lascivious desire for a married man and all he represents.  Mistress Memoirs is an engaging, unorthodox lurk into the mind of a mistress. By delving into the self-analyzing inner thoughts that catapult Kahla into the role of the woman on the side, Mistress Memoirs gives a vision of who the other woman really is as viewed from the standpoint of the mistress herself.

Get your copy of Mistress Memoirs at www.peaceinthestormpublishing.com or at www.amazon.com, or at Barnes and Nobel stores near you. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 10:39 am

    Great interview Sheila! I loved Lorraine’s answer for question #1. I think thats something we can all learn to do. Its great when others can look back at the end of our lives and see how we blessed them, but what a joy to be able to do that with your own life while you’re living! Enjoying each blessing as you receive them!

    Much love and luck to Ms Elzia on her debut novel and writing career!

  2. February 18, 2009 1:38 pm

    Valerie, I loved her response to #1 too. Life is too precious not to stop and enjoy it. Sometimes we get so busy we don’t appreciate what’s right in front of us. Thanks Valerie for stopping by.

  3. Persia Ellis permalink
    February 21, 2009 8:21 am

    As a true L.E. fan, I must commend you both on a beautiful interview. I love the energy and the questions and answers just fit. perfectly.

    Bravo!!

Leave a Reply

