Skip to content

Anya Monzikova – The Iron Man 2 Interview

February 23, 2010

Anya Monzikova is starring in the blockbuster movie Iron Man 2, also starring Robert Downey, Don Cheadle, and Scarlett Johansson

Directed by Jon Favreau, Iron Man 2 is one of Film Reviews 2 Go’s “must see” movies this spring.

This is an Official interview with Anya Monzikova.


Shelia Goss: Deal or No Deal is my favorite game show. I thought I recognized you when I saw your photo.
Anya Monzikova: LOL, Thank you!

Shelia: Did you set out to model first or act?
Anya: Definitely act. I studied theater in high school and film production in college. My goal has always been to act and modeling was just a way to keep more money in my pocket.

Shelia: When you got the call to be part of Bruce Willis’ movie The Surrogates, where were you and what was your first reaction?
Anya: Well, I first went in to casting for the role of Bridget (she was Bruce Willis’s characters wife’s best friend).

I got a call back for her and met with the director, then a couple weeks later got a call to audition AGAIN for another role by the name of Lisa. A few months passed and I though that the role must have went to someone else… then I get a call saying I booked a part in the film! I started jumping up and down… super excited but when I got to set, the director says something like, thanks for flying out to Boston, even though you didn’t book the part of Bridget or Lisa, we wanted you in the film and I was written into the role of Beautiful Woman…Which was fine with me! Since my part was also the opening of the trailer.

Shelia: You’ve also guest starred on some of my favorite shows such as CSI and CSI Miami. How did you prepare for your guest appearances on the shows?
Anya: Well CSI was really fun! I had to get fitted for contacts to make my eyes look dead for one of the scenes. I also got to use some on my stunt training when they had me shoot a pyrotechnic gun and I had squibs in my shirt too so that when i was shot, blood explodes from my shirt. All really fun and exciting for me because I love action films and I got to do a little bit of action myself!

Shelia: Were you nervous auditioning for Jon Favreau for Iron Man 2? How was it working with him?
Anya: No, I wasn’t really nervous. Just because Jon is such an approachable guy and everyone on set made me feel really comfortable; including Robert Downey Jr. He was a really giving actor that gave you room to improv. So working with Jon and the rest of the cast was an amazing experience.

Shelia: Tell us a little about the character you play in Iron Man 2.
Anya: All I can tell you really is that my characters name is Rebekah, its a small part in the film…but in a really fun scene… I don’t think I’m really allowed to give too much away. Sorry! 😉

Shelia: Your ability to speak Russian also landed you another position on the Iron Man movie set. How was it working with Scarlett Johansson?
Anya: Well Jon asked me to translate a few lines on set for Scarlett in Russian and that was really cool!! After she shot her takes, Jon asked which takes sounded good for dialect and that was a surreal moment … To have the director ask my opinion!

Shelia: What prompted your interest in Wushu and how long did you train?
Anya: I trained for about 3 1/2 years…My initial interest was in wire work, but when I went to the training center they got me interested in the martial art so that i knew what to do when I got on the wires. Now its become a love of mine!

Shelia: Do you feel you’ve been typecast because of your beauty?
Anya: Yes and no, i feel sometimes there is a typecast for blondes in this industry… that if you are a blonde you can only play one type of person (the ditsy girl). But I feel that I have also broken that stereo type with my skills in martial arts and kicking ass! I take it as a compliment.

Shelia: What movie projects do you have coming up?
Anya: Right now is pilot season, so I have been working on that… I also am working with my fiance on a few short film projects… so hopefully they will be hitting the film festival circuit next year.

Shelia: Do you plan on producing your own film one day?
Anya: I would love to! I have taken each project as a learning experience and hope that one day I will have enough knowledge to produce, direct and act in my own films.

Be sure to watch Anya Monzikova in Iron Man 2 – set to hit theaters on May 7, 2010.

Interview by Shelia M Goss, entertainment writer and national best selling author of Hollywood Deception, Double Platinum, His Invisible Wife, etc. Visit her website for more information: www.sheliagoss.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

